Admission and opening times in Venice

Admission and opening times in Venice 2014. Year opening hours, dates, opening days, last entry, closing times, summer, easter, winter, spring, weekends, closure dates, national holidays and more details about schedules for sightseeing, museums, galleries, attractions, monuments, churches, towers, palaces, houses, exhibitions, landmarks and places to visit.

Chiesa di San Geremia

The Chiesa di San Geremia is popular as the seat of the cult of Saint Lucy of Syracuse, whose remains are housed inside. The first church was erected here in the 11th century, and was later rebuilt on several occasions. In 1206 it is mentioned to house the remains of St. Magnus of Oderzo (died 670), who had taken refuge in this area from the Lombards.

Chiesa di San Francesco della Vigna

San Francesco della Vigna is a church in the Sestiere of Castello in Venice. Along with Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari, this is one of two Franciscan churches in Venice. The church was designed in Renaissance style by Jacopo Sansovino. The facade of the church was ultimately commissioned from Andrea Palladio (1562) by Giovanni Grimani.

Chiesa di San Biagio

The Chiesa di San Biagio is a church dedicated to Saint Blaise, in the sestiere of Castello in Venice. The church now stands adjacent to the Museo Storico Navale. Till 1511, this served as the church for the Greek community which had emigrated to Venice after the fall of Constantinople.

Chiesa di San Giorgio dei Greci

San Giorgio dei Greci is a church in the sestiere of Castello, for centuries, despite the close ties of Venice to the Byzantine world, the Greek Orthodox rite was not permitted in Venice. In 1498, the Greek community gained the right to found the Scuola de San Nicolò dei Greci, a confraternity which aided members of that community.

Ex Chiesa di Santa Giustina

Santa Giustina is a church building in the sestiere of Castello, Venice. It no longer functions as a church. It was initially rebuilt in the second half of the 15th century by Augustinian nuns. The building garlanded with Istrian marble, was commissioned by the procurator, Giovanni Soranzo, who asked Baldassare Longhena to build it.


Basilica dei Frari - Artworks


Basilica dei Frari ChoirThe choir is made up of three rows of inlaid dossals and carved that ending with a shell painted and gilded surmounted by a pinnacle on which is placed a figure of angel and is closed externally by a marble dating back to 1475 which is placed the crucifix attributed to Andrea Verrocchio. The old choir of the Friars, the only remaining example in Venice in its original position and structure, is located between the fourth and sixth pillar of the nave. The work is signed, the head of the first stall towards the sacristy, by Marco Cozzi. The choir consists of 124 stalls spread over three orders: 50 upper order, 40 in the medium and 34 in the lower.

In 1475 the exterior front and side of the choir was surrounded with stones from Istria. It is divided into many bas-reliefs representing the patriarchs and prophets of the Old Testament. They represented the four doctors of the Church: St. Ambrose, St. Gregory the Great, St. Augustine and St. Jerome. Above the crown are two statues of eight apostles, St. Anthony and St. Francis, and the sides of the large crucifix attributed to Verrocchio, the Virgin Mary and St. John the Evangelist. The two busts of San Bernardino and St. Louis of Anjou rest on two plates that hold the bow. These two and four doctors of the Church are the work of Pietro Lombardo and the rest is attributed to his workshop.