Cathedral of San Pietro di Castello
For many centuries the cathedral was under the authority of the Patriarch of Grado. In 1451 Venice obtained its own patriarch. hence the church became cathedral. As a result of the dignities that were suppressed by Napoleon in 1807, San Marco (Saint Mark's) became the new cathedral and instead of just being a chapel of the Doge's it became the seat of the Patriarch.
Antico Arsenale (Old Arsenal)
It can be recognised by its terracotta walls and squares towers. From the thirteenth century it was an essential part of the life of the republic.
Historical Naval Museum
Its exibits relate the naval history of the Venetian Republic
Church of San Francesco della Vigna
Church of San Giovanni in Bragora
Church of Visitazione o della Pietà
It was thus called because it is near the old orphanage of Calle della Pietà. It was rebuilt in the eighteenth century by Giorgio Massari.
School and church San Giorgio dei Greci
Church of San Zaccaria
Originally, there was a Benedictine nunnery next to it (which was then suppressed by the Napoleonic edicts). The nunnery was reserved for young Patrician novices, even if they had no vocation. As it belonged to the Benedictine order the rules were fairly lax. The church was founded in the ninth and was renovated several times in different architectural styles that can still be seen today. The belltower dates back to the ninth century. The most important work was carried out in 1458 and culminated in the impressive façade by Codussi.
Church of Santa Maria Formosa
Legend has it that San Magno ordered it to be built. It was rebuilt in the eleventh century and was then rebuilt on the previous foundations in 1492, although the original layout in the shape of a Greek cross was mantained. The church is in one of trhe finest of Venice's campi. It is surrounded by private palazzifrom different periods, as can be seen from architectural styles of their façades.