Logo
Print this page

Palazzo Mocenigo

Palazzo Mocenigo. Palazzo Mocenigo.

Palazzo Mocenigo is the seat of the Museum and Study Centre of the History of Fabrics and Costumes: it contains the rich collections of ancient textiles and costumes mostly from the Correr, Guggenheim and Cini collections and the suppressed Centre of Palazzo Grassi. Also contains a library specialising in the history of costumes.

In 1945 Palazzo Mocenigo at San Stae was bequeathed to the city of Venice by Alvise Nicolò, the last descendant of the family, to be used as a Gallery of Art, to supplement Museo Correr. In 1985 the overall project of the Civic Museums designated Palazzo Mocenigo as the seat of the Museum and Study Centre of the History of Fabrics and Costumes

Palazzo Mocenigo also contains a well-stocked library specialising in the history of fabrics, costumes and fashion. The library is situated in the rooms on the first-floor piano nobile that have not conserved their original furnishings; the stocks of fabrics and costumes are situated on the first mezzanine and on the top floor. On the second mezzanine an area has been set aside for didactic and experimental activities.

The collection is laid out in the rooms of the first piano nobile of the palazzo, with an ample selection of garments and accessories. As far as possible, the pieces are laid out in such a way as to illustrate changing tastes in both fashion and furnishings, underlining analogies in colour, line and decorative motif between these two related areas of design.

Mainly of Venetian origin, the garments and accessories are in “worked” fabrics which are often embellished with lace and embroidery. They are a fine illustration of the skill of those numerous artisans (weavers, tailors, lacemakers, embroiderers, etc.) who made such a contribution to that refined luxury and elegance for which the Venetians of the day were famous.

Exhibition Space at First Floor/Piano nobile

  • The Portego
  • Stuccoed Salon
  • The Red Salon
  • The Green Salon
  • Pink Dining Room
  • The Bedroom
  • Bathroom(Not open to visitors at the moment)
  • The Four Seasons Salon
  • Dining Room
  • Library of Count Alvise Nicolò
  • Room used for temporary exhibitions

Palazzo Mocenigo at San Stae

The palazzo was the residence from the 17th century of the San Stae branch of the Mocenigo family, one of the most important families of the Venetian patriciate, seven members of which became doges between 1414 and 1778. It is a large building of gothic origin extensively rebuilt at the beginning of the 17th century, when it attained its present appearance.

Map of Palazzo Mocenigo



Additional Info

Related items

Media

Template Design © Joomla Templates | GavickPro. All rights reserved.

We use cookies to improve your experience on our website. By browsing this site, you agree to our use of cookies. More info.