Campo San Stefano, also known as Campo Francesco Morosini (this is the name of the 11th century Doge who once lived here), is located in the Sestiere of San Marco and is one of the largest places in Venice. It is bordered by the homonymous gothic church with remnants of gothic frescoes. Apart from a fine late gothic portal on the Campiello San Stefano, the church features a singular wooden ship's keel roof and several baroque altars.
Only one of the houses on the western side of Campo San Stefano, the gothic Palazzetto da Lezze, is of artistic merit. The next building, Palazzo Loredan, with its austere long side and palladian northern side, is today a research institute. Campo Pisani, a extension of Campo San Stefano, is not only affected by the huge homonymous palace (today conservatory), but also by modest houses, giving delightful contrasts. Another large palace, Palazzo Morosini, is virtually slammed between a house and Palazzo Pisani.
The ancient church of San Vidal with a today only used for concerts. In the 18th century, San Vidal was given a new façade with monumental tombs after a design by Andrea Tirali. On the opposite side, the 19th century garden of Palazzo Franchetti, a mainly neomedieval palace remodeled by Camillo Boito.
The monument in the middle of the place shows Niccolò Tommaseo (1802-1874). He was a noted Dalmatian scholar. He was involved in the 1848 rebellion against the Austrians.
Campo Stefano is one of the largest and airiest squares in the city. Bullfights were once held here. In 1802 the stadium collapsed. The resulting deaths put an end to this practice. For centuries the campo was grass except for a stone avenue called the liston. It was so popular for strolling that in Venetian dialect "andare al liston" still means "to go for a walk." A sunny meeting spot popular with Venetians and visitors alike, the campo also hosts outdoor fairs during Christmas and Carnevale seasons.
- Address: Campo Santo Stefano, San Marco, Venice, 30124.